

State of Nevada FUNERAL AND CEMETERY SERVICES BOARD

501 Hammill Lane, Reno, Nevada, 89511 Phone (775) 825-5535 * Email nvfuneralboard@fb.nv.gov

Application and Instructions for Embalmer Licensure

Eligibility and Information

Any individual wishing to become licensed in the State of Nevada as an Embalmer must complete this application and submit all required documentation with a \$375.00 application fee. Once the Board receives all needed documentation, a background check will be completed and the application will be reviewed by the Board during a public meeting.

Required Documents

<u>Completed Application:</u> Applications are required to be completed in full and must be signed and notarized.

<u>Transcripts:</u> Applicants for Licensure as an Embalmer must submit verification of 60 semester hours or 90 quarter hours at an accredited college or university (credits earned at an embalming college or school of mortuary science do not fulfill this requirement), and verification of 12 months of instruction in an embalming college or school of mortuary science which is accredited by the International Conference of Funeral Service Examining Boards. (Transcripts are not required for reciprocal licensure)

<u>Testing:</u> Applicants for Licensure as an Embalmer must have completed the Nevada State Board Exam or the National Board Exam and the Nevada Law, Rules, and Regulations Exam provided through The Conference.

<u>Nevada Business License</u>: Individuals who are self-employed or working as independent contractors are required to comply with Nevada business licensing requirements. Information is available through the Secretary of State's Office or <u>www.nvsilverflume.gov</u>.

<u>Character</u> <u>Affidavits:</u> Applicants for Licensure as an Embalmer must submit affidavits from two reputable residents of the county in which the applicant proposes to engage in the practice of embalming attesting that the applicant is of good moral character. Affidavits must contain contact information. (Not required for reciprocal licensure)

<u>Applicant Request to Release Information:</u> This document must be signed and notarized in order for the Board to obtain any necessary information to conduct a background investigation. Form can be found on Board website or mailed upon request.

<u>Criminal History Form</u>: This document must be completed if applicant has a criminal history. Form can be found on Board website or mailed upon request.

<u>Reciprocal License:</u> Applicants licensed in another state must submit proof of graduation from an accredited embalming college or school of mortuary science and verification of license in good standing must be received through reciprocal state.

Full Face Photograph of Applicant: Please submit with application.

<u>Fee</u>: A non-refundable check made out to "Nevada Funeral and Cemetery Services Board" in the amount of \$375 must be submitted at time of application.

License or Certificate Type		
Embalmer License	Reciprocal Embalmer License	
Applicant Information		
Legal Name:		
Address:Street / P.O. Box	City State Zip	
Email Address:	Phone #:	
Social Security Number	Sex	
Date of Birth	Place of Birth	
US Citizen	Authorized to Work in the US	
List all prior names used by applicant:		
Professional Licensing History		
	, certified or registered as an Embalmer or Funeral	
Director in any other jurisdiction? Ye	es No	
State/Jurisdiction:License #	Issue Date: Expiration Date:	
	Issue Date: Expiration Date:	
State/Jurisdiction:License #	Issue Date: Expiration Date:	
State/Jurisdiction:License #	Issue Date: Expiration Date:	
Ductors is not Franks we and History (Frank		
Professional Employment History (5 years	s) – attach additional sheets if necessary	
1. Current Employer:	Start Date:	
Address:		
Street / P.O. Box	City State Zip	
Phone #	Fax #:	
2. Previous Employer:	Start /End Date:	
Street / P.O. Box		
Phone #:	Fax #:	
3. Previous Employer:Start/End Date:		
Address: Street / P.O. Box	City State Zip	
Phone #:	Fax #:	

	ease list pie	ices of residence for the last 10) years	
. Current Physical /	Address:			
		Street / P.O. Box		
City		State	2	Zip
Pates of Residence	From:	To:	own	rent
. Prior Physical Add	dress:			
		Street / P.O. Box		
City		State	Z	Zip
Dates of Residence	From:	To:	own	rent
. Prior Physical Add	dress:	Street / P.O. Box		
		Street / P.O. Box		
City		State	Z	Zip
Pates of Residence	From:	To:	own	rent
. Prior Physical Add	tress.			
		Street / P.O. Box		
City		State	2	Zip
Dates of Residence	From:	To:	own	rent
. Prior Physical Add	dress:			
		Street / P.O. Box		
City		State	2	Zip
Pates of Residence	From:	To:	own	rent
lilitary History Que	estions			
	ed in the Ui eserve Force Reser	nited States military, please ch Navy/Na ve Coast Gu	leck branch(es) of s vy Reserve Jard/Coast Guard F	
lilitary Occupation S	Specialty/Sp	ecialties:		
ate(s) of Service: F	rom	to		

Education Dominanta attack additional a		
Education Requirements - attach additional s	-	
Are you a high school graduate? Yes	No	
Have you completed at least 60 semester hour university? Yes No	rs or 90 quarter hours at an accredited college or	
	instruction in an embalming college or school of ternational Conference of Funeral Service Examining	
	rtuary science attended and number of credits earned m each institution must be sent to the Board for	I
Name of School:		
Address:		
Street / P.O. Box Phone #:	City State Zip _ Fax #:	
Dates of attendance: From (month and year)_	To (month and year)	
Degree:	Major:	
Number of semester hours obtained:	Number of quarter hours obtained:	
Name of School:		
		—
Address: Street / P.O. Box	City State Zip	—
Phone #:	_ Fax #:	
Dates of attendance: From (month and year)_	To (month and year)	
Degree:	Major:	
Number of semester hours obtained:	Number of quarter hours obtained:	
Name of School:		
Address:	City State Zip	
Phone #:	_ Fax #:	
Dates of attendance: From (month and year)	To (month and year)	
Degree:	Major:	
Number of semester hours obtained:	Number of quarter hours obtained:	

Examination of Applicant

Verification of successful completion of to complete prior to issuance of license. If only the Nevada Law, Rule and Regulati	applicant has taken a	and passed i		
Have you taken and passed the National	Board Exam?	Yes	No	
Date exam was taken:	Score:		_	
Have you taken and passed the Nevada	State Board Exam?	Yes	No	
Date exam was taken:	Score:			
Have you taken and passed the Nevada	Law, Rule and Regu	Ilation Exam	? Y€	es No
Date exam was taken:	Score:		_	
Embalming Experience				
Have you previously obtained a certificat Nevada? Yes No	e of registration as a	n apprentice	embalmer	in the State of
What is/was your Nevada registration nu	mber?			
In what month and year was your Nevad	a certificate of regist	ration issued	?	
Have embalmer apprentice reports been	submitted in accord	ance with NF	RS 642.240)?
Yes No				
Number of bodies you have embalmed u	nder the supervision	of a license	d embalme	:r:
Information concerning licensed embalm	er referenced in abo	ve:		
Name:				
License Number:				
Address:	City	State	Zin	
Phone #:	,		Zip	
Reciprocal Licensure Questions – ans	wer only if obtaining	license throu	ugh recipro	city
		•		
Have you practiced embalming successf				,
Have you actively been practicing the las	st 2 years? Yo	es No)	

Legal Inform	mation – Explain any "YES" answers on a separate sheet of paper			
Has there ever been a complaint filed, investigation, or legal action takenYesNo against your professional license for any reason?				
Are there any pending legal actions, complaints, investigations orYesNo hearings concerning you in process?				
Have you ever had a professional license, certification or registrationYesNo denied, restricted, suspended, or revoked?				
Have you ever relinquished responsibilities, resigned a position or beenYesNo				
Have you ever been convicted of, or pled guilty or nolo contendere to, a violation of ANY federal or state statute, city or county ordinance, or anyYesNo law of a foreign country? (Exclude minor traffic violations.) <i>(If you answer "yes" to this question, a Criminal History Form must be completed. Form can be found on Board website or mailed upon request.)</i>				
Child Supp	ort Information – Please check ONE appropriate answer. An answer is mandatory.			
	I am not subject to a court order for the support of a child.			
	I am subject to a court order for the support of one or more children and am in compliance with the order or am in compliance with a plan approved by the district attorney or other public agency enforcing the order for the repayment of the amount owed pursuant to the order.			
	I am subject to a court order for the support of one or more children and am NOT in compliance with the order or plan approved by the district attorney or other public agency enforcing the order for the repayment of the amount owed pursuant to the order.			
Nevada Bu	siness License Information – Check Appropriate Answer. An answer is mandatory.			
	I do NOT have a Nevada business license number and AM NOT required to have one under the provisions of NRS Chapter 76.			
	I do NOT have a Nevada business license number and AM required to have one under the provisions of NRS Chapter 76.			
	I have a Nevada business license number assigned by the Secretary of State upon compliance with the provisions of NRS Chapter 76.			
Name on business license:				
Busir	ness license #:			

Declaration of Applicant		
	ry, that all of the information supplied herein is rate and complete and I have not withheld, formation relevant to this application.	
Signature of Applicant	Date	
Print Name		
SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN BEFORE ME		
	, in the year	
Notary Public	Seal	
Applicant Photo		
For Board Use Only: Date Received:		
Amount Paid:	Check Number:	
Date License Issued:		