STATE OF NEVADA



FUNERAL AND CEMETERY SERVICES BOARD

3740 Lakeside Drive, Suite 201, Reno, Nevada 89509 Phone (775) 825-5535 * Fax (775) 507-4102

Email: nvfuneralboard@fb.nv.gov * Website: funeral.nv.gov

How to Become a Licensed Embalmer in the State of Nevada

In order to practice the profession of embalming in the State of Nevada, applicant must be duly licensed pursuant to Chapter 642 of Nevada Revised Statutes.

1. Requirements for Embalmer Licensure:

- a. Be at least 18 years of age;
- b. Be of good moral character;
- c. Pass the Nevada Laws, Rules and Regulation (NVLRR) examination;
- d. Pass the National Board Exam Sciences examination;
- e. Be a high school graduate and have completed 2 academic years of instruction by taking 60 semester or 90 quarter hours at an accredited college or university; Mortuary science program accepted;
- f. Be a graduate of an embalming college or school of mortuary science which is accredited by the American Board of Funeral Service Education and approved by the Board;
- g. Have not less than 1 year's practical experience under the supervision of an embalmer licensed in the State of Nevada (Serve one year as an apprentice embalmer);
- h. Have actually embalmed at least 50 bodies under the supervision of a licensed embalmer prior to the date of application;
- i. Present to the Board affidavits of at least two reputable residents of the county in which the applicant proposes to engage in the practice of an embalmer to the effect that the applicant is of good moral character.

2. Requirements for Embalmer Licensure for Applicant Licensed in Another State (Reciprocity):

- a. Be a graduate of an embalming college or a school of mortuary science which is accredited by the American Board of Funeral Service Education and approved by the Board;
- b. Licensed as an embalmer in another state;
- c. Has practiced embalming successfully for at least 5 years and practiced actively for at least 2 years of the 5 year period immediately preceding the application for a license by reciprocity:
- d. Be of good moral character;
- e. Pass the Nevada Laws, Rules and Regulation (NVLRR) examination;
- f. Pass the National Board Exam Sciences examination:

3. Steps to become a Licensed Embalmer:

- a. Complete one year as an apprentice embalmer under the supervision of an embalmer licensed in the State of Nevada (this requirement is waived for applicants licensed as embalmers in another state):
- b. Submit to the Board a "Testing Authorization Request and Information" form and select the NVLRR examination. Send the Testing Authorization Request form along with \$50 for the exam authorization to The Board; The Testing Authorization Request form can be downloaded on the Board website at funeral.nv.gov under the "Licensing" tab. There are additional steps and fees for testing with The Conference. Please see the Testing Authorization Request and Information form for complete details on testing.
- c. Successfully pass the NVLRR examination and the National Board Exam Sciences section and ensure that Official Certified Score reports are sent directly from The Conference.
- d. Have relevant transcripts and proof of graduation from school of mortuary science sent directly to the Board.
- e. Once you have successfully passed the relevant examinations, you are ready to submit your Embalmer Licensure Application and application fee of \$375 to the Board for review and processing. The application may be downloaded on the Board website at funeral.nv.gov under the "Licensing" tab. If you are seeking licensure through reciprocity, please complete appropriate application.
- f. Once all required documents and testing score reports have been received, the application will be reviewed by the Board at the next Board meeting. Applicant will be notified of the date, time and location of the meeting.
- g. After the Board reviews the application, the applicant will either receive an approval letter with license or a denial letter.