STATE OF NEVADA



FUNERAL AND CEMETERY SERVICES BOARD

3740 Lakeside Drive, Suite 201, Reno, Nevada 89509 Phone (775) 825-5535 * Fax (775) 507-4102

Email: nvfuneralboard@fb.nv.gov * Website: funeral.nv.gov

How to Become a Licensed Funeral Director in the State of Nevada

"Funeral Director" defined, NRS 642,015

- 1. "Funeral Director" means a person engaged in, conducting the business of or holding himself or herself out as engaged in:
- (a) Preparing or contracting to prepare by embalming or in any other manner dead human bodies for burial, cremation or disposal, or directing and supervising the burial, cremation or disposal of dead human bodies;
 - (b) Directing, supervising or contracting to direct or supervise funerals;
- (c) The business of a funeral director by using the word "funeral director," "mortician" or any other title implying that the person is engaged in the business of funeral directing.
 - 2. The term does not include:
- (a) A licensed embalmer, a funeral arranger or a person whose duties are limited to conducting direct cremations or immediate burials;
- (b) An owner of a funeral establishment or direct cremation facility, unless the owner engages in any activity described in subsection 1.

NOTE: You must be a licensed Funeral Director to sign death certificates or manage a funeral establishment or direct cremation facility in the State of Nevada.

1. Requirements for Funeral Director Licensure (NRS 642.360):

- a. Be at least 18 years of age;
- b. Be of good moral character;
- c. Pass the Nevada Laws, Rules and Regulation examination (NVLRR);
- d. Pass either the Nevada State Board examination (NVSBE) or the National Board Art Section examination (NBE-ART);
- e. One (1) year active practice as a Funeral Arranger in the State Nevada (this requirement is waived if the applicant has held a license as a funeral director in another state for at least one (1) year prior to submitting an application in this State).

2. Steps to become a Licensed Funeral Director:

- a. Submit to the Board a "Testing Authorization Request and Information" form and select the NVLRR and NVSBE examinations. NOTE: Only the NVLRR is required if applicant has successfully passed the National Board Exam Arts Section. Send the Testing Authorization Request form along with \$50 for each exam authorized to The Board; The Testing Authorization Request form can be downloaded on the Board website at funeral.nv.gov under the "Licensing" tab. There are additional steps and fees for testing with The Conference. Please see the Testing Authorization Request and Information form for complete details on testing.
- b. Successfully pass relevant examinations. The NVSBE contains *Note: If applicant has successfully passed the NVE-ART examination, please request an "Official Certified Score Report" be sent to the Board from The Conference.*
- c. Once you have successfully passed the relevant examinations, you are ready to submit your Funeral Director Licensure Application and application fee of \$375 to the Board for review and processing. The application may be downloaded on the Board website at funeral.nv.gov under the "Licensing" tab.
- d. If the Funeral Director Licensure applicant does not have any criminal history, and all required documents and testing score reports have been received, the Board Executive Director may approve the application. Please allow 10 days for processing application after all information has been received.
- e. If the Funeral Director Licensure applicant has criminal history, the application may need to be reviewed by the Board at the next Board meeting. Applicant will be notified of the date, time and location of the meeting if review at a Board meeting is required.
- f. Once application process is complete, the applicant will either receive an approval letter with license or a denial letter.